Charity Awards 2022

Press release

Tea Leaf Trust shortlisted for the Charity Awards 2022



Tea Leaf Trust is delighted to announce that it has made the shortlist for this year’s Charity Awards, the longest-running and most prestigious awards scheme in the charity sector.

Tea Leaf Trust has been shortlisted in the International Aid and Development for its Education and community outreach projects in the Sri Lankan tea estates, which aims to lift families on the Sri Lankan tea estates out of extreme poverty. The Charity Awards is the sector’s most highly-regarded excellence recognition scheme. All 30 shortlisted charities this year have been judged by an independent panel of sector leaders as having demonstrated best practice in leadership and management, from which other organisations can learn.

Why was Tea Leaf Trust selected?

Indian-origin Tamils are a dependent, uneducated workforce. They face complex social problems and incidences of suicide are higher than in other parts of Sri Lanka, which already has the highest rate in South Asia. Young people from tea estates are often discriminated against as third-class citizens when seeking employment. Comprehensive analysis showed that these young people needed English and professional skills such as IT to open up better-paid careers and escape the hopeless servitude that was their lives.

To succeed where other better-resourced NGOs had failed, Tea Leaf Trust recognised that it needed to be led by the community, for the community In one year, at one of its three centres, the trust educates 185 young people, with over 80% progressing into employment, further education or training. Along the way, these young people support over 45,000 members of their communities. Over 95% of employed graduates more than double their household incomes and the alumni suicide rate is dramatically lower than the national one.

Shortlist announcement

The Charity Awards, which announces its shortlist today (11 May), is the charity world’s longest-running, biggest and best-known awards ceremony. This year’s charities have been judged by an independent panel of charity leaders as having demonstrated outstanding best practice in leadership and management, from which other organisations can learn.

The ten category winners, plus the recipients of the Overall Award for Excellence and the Daniel Phelan Award for Outstanding Achievement, will be announced at a blacktie dinner on 16 June, held at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London. The evening will be hosted by broadcaster and commentator Ayesha Hazarika, who will be joined on the night by a host of celebrities, representatives of the shortlisted charities, as well as leaders from Britain’s best known and best loved charities. Matthew Nolan, chief executive of Civil Society Media, which organises the Charity Awards, congratulated Tea Leaf Trust on making the highly-coveted shortlist. He said:

“The breadth and quality of the work being done by charities across the UK continues to astonish. Tea Leaf Trust should be very proud to have made the shortlist.

“For 22 years the Charity Awards have been identifying and celebrating the fantastic work that UK charities do. Our rigorous judging process highlights those charities with the most innovative ideas and the most effective approaches to delivering real change.

“All the nominees on this year’s shortlist are examples of large and small charities who are truly leaders in their field. I wish Tea Leaf Trust the very best of luck on the night.”

Peter Hugh Smith, chief executive at CCLA, Overall Partner of the Charity Awards,

“The Charity Awards celebrate the pinnacle of charitable endeavour and this year’s entries are no exception. CCLA is delighted to support the Awards and to help promote the fantastic work that the sector is doing across the UK. We wish Tea Leaf Trust the very best of luck.”

The Shortlist 2022:

Arts, Culture & Heritage
Centre for Ageing Better
Immediate Theatre
Services for Education
Campaigning & Advocacy
Surviving Economic Abuse
Children & Youth
Forget Me Not Children’s Hospice
New Horizon Youth Centre
Brain Injury Matters (NI)
Fleetwood Beach Wheelchairs
Pure Innovations
Education & Training
Action Tutoring
World Jewish Relief
Environment & Conservation
FareShare UK
In Kind Direct
YHA England & Wales
Grantmaking & Funding
Edinburgh Dog & Cat Home
Macmillan Cancer Support
Smallwood Trust
Healthcare & Medical Research
St John Ambulance
International Aid & Development
The Lotus Flower
Pump Aid
Tea Leaf Trust
Social Care, Advice & Support
Back on the Map
Cyfannol Women’s Aid
Ripple Suicide Prevention

For more information about the Charity Awards 2022, please contact: Jenni O’Donovan, 020 7819 1200, [email protected]

The panel of judges for 2022 is:

• Su Sayer OBE
• Rachel Cockett, director of development, Birmingham Museums Trust
• Ruth Davison, chief executive, Refuge
• Martin Edwards, chief executive, Julia’s House
• Sarah Ellis, director of digital development, Royal Shakespeare Company
• Yvonne Field, founder and CEO, the Ubele Initiative
• Richard Hawkes, chief executive, British Asian Trust
• Kris Murali, director of finance and resources, the Scout Association
• Cathy Phelan-Watkins, owner and director, Civil Society Media
• Shane Ryan, global executive director, the Avast Foundation
• Sharika Sharma, head of business development, CCLA
• Chris Sherwood, chief executive, RSPCA
• Priya Singh, chair, NCVO
• Paul Streets, chief executive, Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales
• Nicola Toyer, head of charities, Investec

Notes to editors:
The Charity Awards 2022, now in its 23rd year, is organised by Civil Society Media, publishers of Charity Finance, Fundraising and Governance & Leadership magazines and

The Charity Awards is sponsored by CCLA. CCLA received the highest possible grade (A+) in the most recent Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI) survey for its approach to stewardship, ESG integration, in both listed equity and property, and our wider responsible investment strategy and governance. It is also a ‘Tier One’ signatory to the UK Stewardship Code.